Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Governments in some countries spend large amounts of money on promoting awareness of a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness. While some may think that these are the right investments, I believe that allocating public funds to treat patients should be prioritized.

There are several reasons why it is unnecessary to expend government funds on consciousness raising of positive lifestyle. First of all, it would be a waste of money when government spend large amount of money on promoting healthy lifestyles. For example, it is extremely expensive to pay some services such as advertisement on television or social media for raising public awareness to avoid illness. Moreover, promotion of positive thinking does not have many effects when it is hard to change the habits of people. It is evident that there are a great number of books or newspapers which talk regularly about improvement of public health, yet the number of teenagers and adults who suffer from obesity or even cancers has been alarmingly increasing in the recent years. Therefore, it would not be effective if the government only concentrate on promoting a healthy lifestyle.

Advocates of encouraging people around the world to prevent illness through establishment of good habits would argue that such methods will help to avoid a host of health problems. However, such reasoning seems invalid because not all illnesses result from lifestyle choices. In reality, the appearance of a lot of strange diseases and people living in pollution areas or unhealthy conditions can prove that there is a need for the government to spend money on researching better treatments. Furthermore, the governments receive tax revenues from citizens, and must be responsible for taking care of taxpayers. Therefore, the government funding must be provided to many social services including healthcare.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I strongly believe the view that it is more necessary for government to spend public funds on treating patients instead of investing in promotion of a healthy lifestyle.