Some people think it is more important for the government to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether public money is spent on preventing diseases or treating inhabitants who are already suffering from them by the government. Although promoting balanced habits so as to reduce illnesses is an essential manner, I completely disagree with this view.

It is crucial for the government to pay attention to raising public money on preventing illnesses through investing in sporting infrastructure and sessions training. With regard to the former, these public facilities encourage residents particularly in urban areas to join in outdoor exercise on a daily basis. Consequently, physical activities can boost their immune system and prevent various chronic diseases such as high blood pressure, diabetes and obesity. In addition, if the governments contribute more money on session training, they can raise the awareness of inhabitants about the importance of staying healthy and give them the right way to do exercise everyday.

On the other hand, spending public money on the treatment of citizens who are already ill is extremely essential. First of all, these patients also pay money for the welfare state before they suffer from illnesses so it is logical that they can receive the health services. For example, if VietNamese person pays $100 yearly for health insurance, he will get free medicine and a 50% fee for surgery in public hospitals. The other reason is that plenty of diseases including bacteria infection, SAR and COVID19 can spread into the community from the patients who are not treated in health centers.

In conclusion, it is important for the government to use public benefits to improve lifestyle in order to prevent new diseases. However, I believe that most of them should focus on curing patients currently.