Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has been stated that it is beneficial for kids to be around pets however, the opposite opinion believes that it can be unsafe for children. Both point of views will be debated in this essay.

On the one hand, it is true that there are some risks in living with pets especially in a family with young children since humans and animals behave in a completely different way. Some owners might not know enough about pets’ behaviors which can lead to various negative effects. For example, being out of hand or even uncontrollable in some situation, being the host to parasites that also affect the family’s member without anyone noticing, and even the harm from the pets’ toys. Moreover, parents need to take extra care which can be time consuming and stressful for the family.

On the other hand, aside from all the risks, dogs and cats can be helpful as well. Many households are familiar with pets for a long time therefore, they can understand their pets and raise their children to understand them too. Keeping pets help the children to be more responsible, and according to many studies it has been proven that children who grew up with pets are most likely to be merciful and gentle. Moreover, pets can save children from fatal situations. There are many videos on the internet as evidence. For instance, a clip of dog chasing bad guy trying to bombard the young child, and a clip of a cat closing the door to prevent the baby from crawling downstairs.

In conclusion, although their can still be harm from keeping animals, the benefits of pets are impacted. For the reasons discussed, I support pets in the family since they have more advantages with the right care.