Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own styles. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The construction of new houses that are based on the traditional style is the trend of some individuals, whereas other opinions argue that people should be free to choose their own style of houses. But viewpoints are justifiable, but I personally lean towards the latter.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why some people would like to build their houses through the old style of previous ones. One of the major reasons is that people want to preserve cultural heritage in the local communities. At present, the mixture of western culture and new views makes the traditional houses disappear gradually, which promotes people to follow the design of ancestral houses to keep the last heritages. Additionally, this view also depends on their own preference for beauty. For example, many people like houses with old designs which can be constructed by woods with delicate carving rather than modern styles.

On the other hand, there are strong arguments that new houses should adapt the contemporary society and towards more modern styles. To begin with, people should catch up with the new society and be free to build houses with the style they wish. Because people's accommodation will contribute to showing their value and characteristics, a suitable design will bring people a comfortable space to live and work instead of insisting on a traditional style that they do not really love. In other words, with the development of technique and technology on building, the houses that have an innovative approach often save more expenditures than old designs. For instance, traditional construction materials, like natural stone from local quarries, are difficult to obtain, and very expensive even if they are available, while new houses are built using more affordable materials such as cement and brick.

In conclusion, while some people prefer the traditional architecture of localities, I believe that modern housing styles should be the tendency to people acquire and pursue.