Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives, so it is a waste of time to read news in the newspaper and watch news programs on television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some people do not see any relevance of news to their daily lives. While there may be reasonable explanations to this opinion, I would argue that it is absurd to abandon reading all newspaper and watching news programs.

On the one hand, some people believe that news are time-consuming and their own individual lives are unaffected by events that take place in the world. This may be true, considering news such as dating rumors of celebrities, the results of football matches or the latest fashion trends. If a person do not specially care about showbiz, sports or fashion, obviously they will not bother to spend time on these kinds of new. The Kardashian family reality show attracts millions of viewers, mostly because of the drama and the glamour that the family brings, but hardly anyone will die or be starved if they cease producing the next episodes. Besides, in the world of fast-paced information exchange, tons of news are updated every seconds, therefore, it is impossible to absorb all the news.

On the other hand, certain types of reporting are vital to civils, especially political, social and economic ones. A change in some positions of the government may lead to a totally different policies and ways of operating the country, which will directly affect myriads of residents' lives. The skyscraper-size ship blocking the Suez Canal, Ever Given, caused delay to countless goods and costed billions in delayed shipments. Negatively influenced by the Ukraine - Russia war, petrol price has been escalating and the Euro has lost its value and is now at the same level with US dollar. If people are ignorant of these pieces of news, they may wonder why their orders arrive late, or why the petrol expenses is huge recently. Had it not been for the news, the horrific spread corona virus would not have been addressed and prevented on time, and the death toll might be more catastrophic.

In conclusion, although there are triviality news being irrelevant to most people's lives, political, economic and social news are essential to citizens.