Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

In contemporary society, education has been one of the most concerns of almost families, especially families with children and educators. Therefore, the role of parents and schools has been a controversial topic frequently. Some people believe that it is parents who need to teach their children how to become exemplary citizens while others reckon that this is the responsibility of schools. In this essay, both views surrounding this issue will be discussed.

To some extent, pupils can develop more comprehensively owing to the systematical and scientific education of schools. In these circumstances, they not only are taught about essential subjects such as mathematics, philology, physics but also trained their constitution and practical skills. Aside from the original curriculum, schools organize a lot of extracurricular activities to support their students to learn more valuable skills and get enjoyable experiences. For instance, there are a lot of colleges in my country organizing annual creative fairs to display their students' products with diversified topics and forms. This type of activity is a good way to help students broaden their social networks, improve communication skills as well as oratory abilities. Especially, the competitive environment is the most outstanding point of school because positive peer pressure can help students motivate each other.

On the other hand, we cannot deny that families play a pivotal role in bringing up children. Parents are only ones who interact with offspring during their childhood, therefore parents are important elements that affect immediately the progress of forming the personality and consciousness of adolescences. Because of that close-knit bond, they have more chances to direct their children toward an accurate lifestyle than anybody else. Besides, only parents are always tolerant of their children’s mistakes and encourage them to overcome all difficulties in their lives. For example, a child is pressurized by overwhelming subjects at school, he falls and wants to give up. In this case, his father or mother will be an incentive for him to go up and study harder.

Consequently, I firmly believe that while schools or colleges are the ideal places to educate children, the parent plays a more important role and have a bigger responsibility in education.