Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Children are the most vulnerable who should be taught the ways of living to contribute their part and become good individuals. In my view, both parents and schools have a responsibility for educating the next generation to make their contributions to civilization.

To begin with, parents have a duty to nurture kids as responsible citizens by setting good examples. Youngsters are more intimate with their parents in their first five years of life which is the time that the young form their character and personality. Therefore, adults should be the role models for their offspring due to the fact that family has the greatest influence on children’s behavior in the early years of a child’s development. In other words, a child may imitate their parent in the way of treating other people. For example, if the young one sees their parent helps the homeless with food and clothes, the child will also learn to assist poor people and become a compassionate person.

Furthermore, schools are responsible for teaching the young generation the necessary skills to contribute profound values to the community. When the school-age starting, pupils spend most of their time at school, from the morning till the evening. Thus, this is a suitable place for them to broaden horizons and shape their mind. It is imperative that education system must be well-equipped for students with academic subjects and soft skills which are essential for being a part of our modern community. To illustrate, if there are extracurricular activities in biology class about protecting the environment, the instructors will encourage the young to litter waste in designated places or instruct them how to sort and recycle waste.

In conclusion, I believe that the responsibility must be shared between family and schools by setting good examples and teaching essential knowledge to help children growing up as good members of community. It would be detrimental if one side ignores the issue and considers the matter belongs to the other.