Some people think that parents should teach students how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there are many individuals who claim that parents ought to provide their child lessons on how to become a useful person, while others suggest those things can be taught at school. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument and provide my perspective which supports the latter.

On the one hand, parents can teach children about social manners, which is an essential part of being decent people. This because of parents is the one children are familiar and spent the most time with during their childhood. Therefore, parents are able to educate them about social customs, namely how to respect elders, table manners. As a result, it can be crucial in the future when children grow up and move on with their own life, especially in Oriental society like Vietnam or China where people can be extremely judgemental society based on social behaviours. All things considered, parents play a significant role in educating children on how to behave well.

On the other hand, school is the place where children learn both hard and soft skills at a society level. The reason is that children go to school where they have opportunities to encounter counterparts from different walks of life. These new relationships allow them to learn about teamwork or how to negotiate a good deal which a family environment often lacks. In addition, academic knowledge acquired in school enables development of critical thinking and problem-solving skills which are necessary traits for future careers. More importantly, teachers are specialized in giving lessons which help children more effectively.

In conclusion, families play a major part in the children’s growth, but school is a greater place for children to develop comprehensively.