Some people think that people should be given the right to use freshwater as they like. Others believe governments should strictly control the use of fresh water. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions diverge on whether fresh water should be used freely depending on people’s demand. Although this sentiment can be true to some extent, I rely heavily on the opposition that governments need to manage water consumption due to some rational reasons.

Admittedly, having high sanitary conditions is the main benefit if people are entitled to consume freshwater. It cannot be denied that water is of paramount importance to humans; hence, with enough volume of fresh water, some basic needs such as drinking or washing can be adapted. People in remote areas, for example, have to use water from rivers or streams to serve their living, which leads to myriad diseases like dysentery or diarrhea, meanwhile, the opposite is true with people who have opportunities to use fresh water. Therefore, residents should not be limited in using fresh water so as to avoid some deadly water-borne illnesses.

Conversely, I assert my strong support that governments should have strict rules on using fresh water due to the future benefits and the prevention from physical effects. When it comes to the future merits, the shortage of fresh water can be predicted easily if there is no policy on consuming water. It is perceptible that overpopulation develops more and more complicatedly, which is equivalent to the fact that the more humans are, the lessen source of water is. As a result, food production might also slump if the shortage of water happens, thereby managing the consumption of water. Turning to the latter reason, sinking terrain is the clearest phenomenon to prove the correctness of this sentiment. Scientifically, the ground subsidence is attributed to the lack of water, and the occurrence of earthquakes seemingly worsens.

By way of conclusion, notwithstanding the essence of using water freely. the fresh-water use policy should be managed and operated by the government.