Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people suppose that success in sport depends on physical power, other people believe that mental toughness plays a more crucial role in this field. In this essay, two standpoints are going to be analyzed and personally I advocate the latter.

On the one hand, it is easily understandable that physical vigor is of significant importance in order to accomplish the goals in sport. Obviously, general sport consists of a variety of physical activities which need a muscular body and key skills such as speed, flexibility, stamina and endurance. Therefore, sport players pay much attention to work out on a daily basis with an attempt to gain the best conditions in their health. Moreover, they also try to avoid unexpected injuries which might cause them to suspend their exercising for a short time or even put an end to their sport career.

On the other hand, I hold a strong belief that spiritual strength is truly a major decisive factor for every victory in sport. It means that high spirit may help athletes overcome the tiredness, obstacles, pain and even failure in both training and competition. In other words, it gives them a lot of motivation to pursuit the challenging task. In addition, it is clear that intellectual strength can create extraordinary triumphs in sport. For example, a weak football team can defeat the stronger competitor with highest determination and win-at-all-costs spirit.

In conclusion, although physical power has a vital meaning for the success in sport, I am of the opinion that spiritual factor is more important for sport achievements.