Some people think that public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free to the people who use it To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is widely believed that the government should pay for the public vehicles and it should be available free of cost for the citizens. I completely agree with the statement as it will help to improve the environment and reduce the traffic congestion on the roads.

To begin with, providing free transportation services will reduce the number of private vehicles on the street. Because individuals will prefer to commute by free buses, trains, and tubes, it will deteriorate the traffic blockage. For instance, on an average every working person spends 2 hours commuting one way leaving their morning regime in a hurry to reach the office. However, free transport will not only allow some extra time to finish breakfast in the morning but also reduce the irritation factor while driving. Besides this, it saves the cost of filling the petrol or CNG tanks. Moreover, using public transport will reduce the traffic, cost and save time.

Furthermore, with the increasing users of public vehicles, the pollution will be in control. Because a growing number of people will start using buses for daily commuting, there will be less toxic gases emission from the cars. Nowadays, every family whether affluent or middle class owns a car for their convenience which increases the air quality index. To corroborate, Delhi government is providing free access to local buses and more individuals are taking advantage of that which consequently improving the air quality. If the government of every country takes more such initiatives, people will rather choose public transport, and hence, we would be living in a pollution free world.

In conclusion, the more people are motivated to use free of cost vehicles, the less contamination there will be.