Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children To what extent do you agree or disagree

Children these days have plenty of kinds of entertainment which may help them unwind after studying at school. Television and video games are supposed to be more attractive to children than books. However, reading stories exerts many beneficial effects on brain development. I partly agree that reading books is better than watching TV or playing games.

Firstly, reading books can help them gain valuable knowledge, enjoy entertainment and reduce stress. When they are children, reading stories and fairy tales not only helps them read smoothly and increase their vocabulary, but also enormously helps them build an abundant imagination. When they are older, the favor of books that they nurtured when they were young may help them perceive much more precious knowledge. Furthermore, reading books was regarded as one of the most popular ways of entertaining when they had free time.While reading textbooks or specialized books can broaden their horizons, reading novels and funny stories can help them reduce stress when they are under a lot of pressure. Secondly, one of the perks of reading books is that it can exercise children's brains, improve their focus, and their memory. While reading, children are trained how to absorb new information and arrange it in a memorable way. Unlike exercise for muscles, reading is a workout for children's brains. While trying to interpret the written words, the brain is stimulated to focus, concentrate, and be intelligent. Research has shown that reading helps in brain development and makes kids smart.

On the other hand, apart from reading stories in books, watching television or playing video games also have their positive sides. For example, through media, kids can explore places, animals, or things that they couldn’t see otherwise. The pictures or images in books can be colorful, but it will never be as vivid as on screen. Furthermore, good role models and examples on TV can positively influence kids. Thousands of people’s jobs are determined when they saw it on TV as they were children. Images of models, flight attendants, teachers, or even firefighters, have a great impact on children's wishes of dream jobs. In terms of playing video games, it also improves their problem-solving skills. At the heart of every video game is a challenge. Some games, such as puzzles, mysteries, managing virtual cities, and empires, offer kids the chance to take on a problem and work to find a solution.

In conclusion, each one has its own perks. Reading stories can bring children many benefits, including obtaining valuable knowledge, reducing stress, exercising the brain, and improving focus and memory. On the other side of the spectrum, watching television moderately can bring them real and lively images of what they learn in books. Playing video games can even help them enhance their problem-solving skills. Three of them are the ways that exert desirable impacts on children's development. Parents are the only ones who can help them utilize and control the time they use in a way that supports their children the most.