Some people think that schools should choose students according to their academic abilities, while others think it is better to have students of different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the education field, people have different views about which type of class organization is appropriate for students' development. Particularly, it is argued whether we should apply streaming student practice or group students with diverse abilities in a class. While streaming in school is sometimes beneficial, I believe that mix-ability class organizations should be encouraged.

On the one hand, classifying students through academic abilities is favored because students can have their skills sharpened. With more specialized materials and syllabuses, pupils have a chance to broaden their knowledge in certain fields, and therefore pursue higher achievement in those fields. By dint of that advantage, some high schools in Vietnam, for example, classify students according to their advantageous subjects such as Math and English, intending to foster students’ abilities. With the same level of absorbing knowledge, the streaming practice also helps facilitate the teaching process and reduce the pressure for teachers when delivering lessons. However, this type of class may put pupils under stress when they have to emphasize academic achievement and possibly suffer from peer pressure.

On the other hand, when studying in a mixed-ability class, students would learn to cooperate with others of different levels. This is possibly an opportunity for pupils with lower academic levels to get support from their peers, creating a sense of motivation for those pupils to study more efficiently. Additionally, a sense of cooperation irrespective of levels or abilities could help avoid discrimination within a class, and this attitude is also a vital factor when it comes to working in a company. Although teachers may have to tailor teaching strategies which is understandable for all kinds of students, students could access various skills such as artistic skill and musical skill besides academic skills. Thus, students would not only develop academic skills but their talents as well.

In conclusion, while streaming in school is advantageous, it seems to me that grouping pupils regardless of their abilities is a much more favorable option.