Some people think that schools should choose students according to their academic abilities, while others think it is better to have students of different abilities studying together.

Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

People have different views about whether schools should choose their students nowadays. In my opinion, choosing by various abilities can outweight by academic abilities.

There are several reasons why school should choose students according to their academic abilities. First, studying in the same level can ensure the effection of study process because students can learn in the same pace and enhance their skills together. For example, high schools in Vietnam usually devide their students into advanced classes and normal classed and students from advanced classed always gain more knowledge and have better skills than remainder, the proof are advanced pupils always easier to get into top universities or award scholarships. Second, classify students by academic abilities can help teachers build their lesson plans suitably to level of each class.

On the other hands, choosing students by different abilities brings two main advantages. The interaction between students, who each has distinct strengths, can help them develop in a comprehensive way. For instance, I have learned from my university classmates a lot of new knowledge and skills which I cannot gain from students have same level to me. In addition, students in lower group may not feel separated to advanced group and this give them more motivation to concentrate on study to gain knowledge rather than to fall in line with good students, therefore there are no significant differences in level of students.

Conclusion, while there are some benefits of choosing students based on academic abilities, my own view is that schools should spend more attention on various abilities when they choose their students.