Some people think that schools should choose students according to their academic abilities, while others think it is better to have students of different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

It is true by some people that academic abilities are an element that helps schools choose students, while some suppose that the placement of students of varying aptitudes is better. From my perspective, I strongly support the first idea because it can bring benefit to both teachers and students.

On the one hand, mixed-ability classes bring many benefits to students’ development. Firstly, when students with different abilities are educated together, they would have able to learn from each other, including soft skills and new knowledge. Students who are well-versed in a particular skill can share important techniques and experience in how to master that skill with classmates who may be weaker. Another benefit of a mixed classroom lies in the cooperation between students using their diversity of strengths. Thus, they may grow up to become more well-rounded individuals.

On the other hand, I believe that there are more advantages when intelligent students are separated from weaker students. From a teacher’s perspective, they can easily plan more suitable lessons to work at the right speed for them. It not only helps students to study effectively but it also makes teaching easier for teachers. From a student’s viewpoint, they also have an opportunity to study with classmates at the same level so it is easy for the pupils to discuss the lesson and enhance their learning process. For example, almost public schools in Viet Nam categorize students based on their academic performance, students with a high academic ability can be provided with more advanced materials to progress faster.

In conclusion, it is better to group students at the same levels because it brings benefits for both students and teachers, while in mixed classes, pupils can be more rounded but it will be hard for a teacher to prepare lessons.