Some People think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities study together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

In recent decades, selecting students in education system still attracts public attention for many reasons. Although other perspectives tend to encourage schools to group students as well as the same-ability, plenty of evidence suggests that the opposite is true.

There are a number of reasons why different academic ability brings a myriad of good views. First, in classes of mixed competencies, children can have the best opportunity to enhance their ability by interacting and communicating with their peers. For example, a literature student can communicate with mathematics student and share his or her knowledge, which taking them into advance levels in a variety of subjects. Second, Competition and challenge play a vital role for many students, on this occasion, the incentive for weaker students is trying to study hard as their classmates. In fact, either a linguistics student or a Mathematics student, they could improve themselves in as many subjects as he or she likes.

On the other hand, grouping students based on the same ability also brings the net beneficial as well. Initially, this enables teachers to prepare materials or tools to teaching easily. For instance, teachers can provide students the same materials and methods, which saves teachers’ times. In addition, with this system, students tend to study with confidence and self-esteem since no one is made them feel inferior by his or her peers. In other words, the emotion of outstanding students feel less reliant on weaker students when they student as the same manner.

In conclusion, though mixed-ability should be promoted, by leading the academic into high degree, streaming students also brings substantial merits.