Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities study together. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are conflicting views about the ways schools can take to classify classes. While selecting students based on their academic performance can bring students several benefits, I still in favor of the traditional approach of having a class of students from various academic levels.

It is true that having a class of pupil at the same level is likely to enhance their overall academic grades. For elite students, as their study pace are normally faster than the average students, if they can study together, they would not have to spend time learning the knowledge they already knew and therefore can have higher productivity towards study. For students who learn knowledge more slowly, they could also benefit from this. They would have less pressure from their peers, increasing their confidence and academic grades.

However, having a mixed class is fairer and more beneficial for students overall development. Schools are established to educate students to become a better person and therefore should not only focus on academic performance. As there are a large number of students who are short of academic study but good at other subjects, using academy-oriented approach to select students would impair their confidence and self-esteem, resulting in lose study opportunities. What is more, having a mixed class is more beneficial for their future development. This is because when they enter into society, they need to cooperate with people from various backgrounds with different abilities. Studying together with all abilities will prepare students better to adapt to society and increase their chances to succeed.

As discussed above, I believe that student from different levels should be taught together for it is a better way to educate children.