Some people think that schools should teach/enroll students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities/skills studying together. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided as to whether or not a school should group their students by academic abilities. Whilst there are those who maintain that mixed-level classes are better, I believe that it is less effective than streamed classes.

There are numerous reasons why people might argue that a class should have students with different strengths, one of which is motivation. In a non-tracked class, when students see their friends study hard, they may be inspired to study harder. Because of the fear of falling behind, it is a huge motivation for them to study to catch up with each other. This would therefore increase educational effectiveness and test higher scores. Another justification is that high achievers can help each other study many subjects. For example, students who are good at Math can teach other students and can be helped in their weakness.

Notwithstanding some critics’ objection, I support the view that students should be grouped according to their abilities. First and foremost, students can study at their pace without having to wait or rush. When studying at their level, students do not have to study to catch up with their classmates, they also do not have to wait for teachers to teach the low-attaining pupils, which is saving a wealth of lecture time. It should also be noted that teachers are easier to prepare lessons and teach. Because teachers know their students' level, it is much easier to choose pedagogical methods to teach. Streamed classes mean that teachers do not need to give extra guidance for the underperforming pupils, which would in turn get the most out of time in the classroom.

In sum, while there are sensible reasons to believe that mixed-ability model have its own benefits, my own view is that a class with students who have similar abilities is more effective in students' learning progress.