Task 2: Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

It is incontrovertible that there are some advocates of streaming in schools on the basis of academic abilities. Meanwhile, other people also argue educational institutions should divide classes without considering individual performance. As far as I am concerned, I firmly concur with the critics against favoring excellent students.

On the one hand, it is true that the selection of students according to their academic activities may bring some notable benefits for the whole classes and students themselves. Firstly, a student in classes who possess similar performance tend to progress more quickly. For those classes, students are likely to cover a lot of ground in a short time, which can help teachers tailor their teaching strategies, regardless of allocating more time to explaining their lecturers several times. Secondly, when the skills and performance of students match the materials prepared by their lecturers, they would be less likely to be out of their depth. Eventually, students tend to easily keep up with their studies, while teachers will spend less time imposing discipline rather than imparting their knowledge.

On the other hand, I would also argue that the idea of choosing students based on their academic ability should be made obsolete. I believe that an equalitarian society is much better than one in which schools just aim to educate high-flyers, who are likely to enjoy personal achievements and gain a competitive edge, instead of supporting disadvantageous people. Furthermore, favoring the academic elite means a majority of less excellent students are discriminated against and branded as failures. From the educational perspective, teachers should also raise cooperative awareness by encouraging excellent students to support other members. This can prepare them to be good team-players in real situations such as workplaces or voluntary jobs, which can provide them opportunities to get ahead in life and move up to a career ladder.

In conclusion, It seems to me that it is unwise to select students according to their academic performance. Instead, it is much better to opt for random selection procedures, which can not only efficiently ensure educational equality but also enhance the performance of all students.