Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to whether children should be encouraged to be competitive adults or that to instill a sense of co-operation would make them more useful as adults. I partially agree with both the opinions due to several reasons that I will discuss in greater detail in my essay.

On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that competition should be encouraged in youngsters, probably because of how competitive the world has gotten nowadays. People often have this opinion because many adults have troubles in the labor market, whether it is finding a job position or standing out among colleagues and build their own career. A second point is that, as a consequence of being competitive, kids will always strive for success and accomplishments. A particularly good example here is the way US and British school's system is structured, with children having to commit to studying and getting high grades in order to get into the best colleges. Ever since primary school, those kids are raised to compete with their fellow mates to enter the "Ivy League".

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposite argument. In fact, it is also argued that by raising ruthless kids, this will make them less useful adults to society. The main reason to support this is that competitive adults can have some difficulties in fitting into society, including using their good manners rather than make their way through it competitively. Cooperation goes hand in hand with collaboration, consequently children raised to be kind and collaborative with one another will have more chances to live a happy life inside the society.

Personally, I find myself standing in the middle of the argument. While being kind and collaborative are two important aspects of a person's character, I believe that in our society it is equally important to be competitive as well. One good illustration of this is the life of medical students and doctors themselves. Those people find themselves in a very competitive world, that requires to be ruthless sometimes. But, on the hand, compassion and collaboration are what make a doctor stand out among others, and help him in taking care of his patients.

Having discussed the most pertinent points of this issue, I feel that the only logical conclusion is that the advantages brought by being a little competitive and those of being able to cooperate have to be combined when raising a kid. Hence, I am partially inclined to the opinion that children need to be both competitive and collaborative.