Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

People’s opinions differ as to whether or not adding food science to the curriculum is beneficial. Whilst there are those who maintain that spending time focusing on the school subjects such as mathematics or literature, I believe that it is a privilege for pupils to learn about food and prepare a meal.

The tendency to pay most of the attention to subjects that have in exams of both parents and students can be clearly seen nowadays. Learners prioritize the main studies to reach the best scores and get to higher education, they usually find knowledge about food is not necessary. Additionally, it is widely claimed that cooking skills can be easily cultivated in daily life. For instance, people can look up the recipe for spaghetti whenever they have their smartphones with an internet connection. Besides, observing others cooking dishes is a way to learn as well.

Notwithstanding some critics’ objections, I support the view that the importance of food science and cooking skills is undeniable, the authorities ought to add them to the study program. First of all, understanding the ingredients and their combination is crucial because it directly impacts our bodies. Besides, students should get to know how harmful or healthy a dish is, this may reduce the cause of some diseases namely obesity, high cholesterol. Second, pupils can help their parents more when it comes to kitchen work and proactively take care of themselves when parents do not absent.

In conclusion, although there are sensible reasons to consider that focusing on school main subjects is essential, the plan to teach students food science along with academic knowledge reaps the merits.