Some people think they have right to use as much freshwater as they want. Others believe governments should tightly control the use of fresh water as it is limited resource. Discuss both views and give your option.

Lacking fresh water is a globally serious problem, which leads to a huge number of bad consequences for both human beings and animals like death or diseases. While some people claim that it is a basic right of humans to use fresh water freely, others share the view that governments should take notice and strictly control people’s water use as it is not an infinite resource. Although it’s true that humans are independent in consuming fresh water because it’s a communal property, I am of the opinion that proper actions should be done by the country’s authorities in order to maintain this limited natural resource.

On the one hand, it is totally reasonable and understandable that people think they have the right to consume fresh water in the way they want. HRWS – The Human Right to Water and Sanitation is recognized by the United Nations, reflecting the fundamental nature of water in every person’s life. According to this, right-holders can claim their right and duty-bearers must guarantee the right to access to water and sanitation equally and without discrimination. It is completely a public source and no one can prevent others from consuming water.

On the other hand, if everyone continues using water just for their own benefits and without thinking about others’, this precious resource would be run out. Especially in a saltwater intrusion situation nowadays, there would be no water which is fresh enough for humans, which leads to lots of disastrous impacts on both humans and the balance of the ecosystem. Moreover, a huge amount of money has been spent on transporting and purifying water in order to produce safe and drinkable water for daily use. If people can’t be aware of the importance of saving water, they will suffer immeasurable problems. Therefore, it is important for the government to promulgate timely legislation to maintain our invaluable resource.

In a word, we must take the human right to water into consideration as it’s a well-known fact that water is not for anyone only, however, in my point of view, I reckon that the authorities should enforce suitable laws so that this priceless resource can be preserved for our long-term future.