Some people think that using mobile phones and computers has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At the present time, computers and mobile phones are becoming more and more popular. Some people said that trend poses a threat to the reading and writing skills of young people. While I agree that it can descend into a detrimental effect to some extent, these technology devices can become helpful tools for young people to improve their reading and writing skills.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that people spend more time typing on technology devices than using handwriting to write on paper. This may lead to handwriting will be declined if it is not practiced regularly. Consequently, in case it is compulsory to write a document by hand, for instance writing essays for the university entrance exam or writing a cover letter for a career change, it will be a disadvantage if others find it hard to read.

On the other hand, it is obvious that reading on computers and mobile phones still requires young people's ability to understand fully what the author means. Furthermore, there are some tools that can help people recognize their problems in vocabulary or grammar, so they can learn from that and avoid similar mistakes in the future. For example, the Grammarly application can check your typo and devise grammar with the explanation.

To summarize, though it is admitted that handwriting can be affected by the growth rate of the use of computers and mobile phones nowadays, I cannot deny its benefits in improving the reading and writing skills of young people.