Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

In recent years, many people claim that zoos are treating captive animals with cruelty while others oppose this view. I believe that zoos are useful to protect wildlife habitats for various reasons.

On the one hand, wild animals are being kept in cages and they must live under artificial environment while they are supposed to live freely. Over time, these animals will rely on the human for food, lose their natural characteristics such as hunting and unable to assimilate into wildlife habitats. Additionally, zoo owners are believed to be unethical as they use animals for entertainment and gain tremendous profits from visitors. Due to these reasons, many people believe that zoos should be closed down to avoid animal exploitation.

On the other hand, zoos have many contributions to protect wildlife creatures. In many places, wildlife parks are providing temporary shelter to protect endangered animals from illegal hunting. Moreover, zoos allow scientists to study animals and their behaviour. As a result of this, the human could understand and research effective ways to preserve rare animals. Another argument is that zoological gardens are educational, interesting and fun for children. Many parents and their kids could find a friendly and exciting place to learn more about animals. This could raise the awareness of many people about protecting wild animals. Last but not least, profits which are gained from zoo visitors could be used to improve the living conditions of temporary captive animals.

In conclusion, there are different arguments about zoos and the way they are treating animals. However, in my opinion, zoos are protecting wild animals in many effective ways and therefore, zoos should not be ceased to exist.