Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Different people have different thoughts and views on zoos where wild animals are kept properly from the point of two different aspects such as wild life animals’ protection and freedom. In my opinion, there are zoos which are a place for the animal conservation in the wild and the recreation with natural habitats.

Today the biodiversity of the world is threatened due to the extinction of species. Zoos protect against a species going extinct. Quite simply without these efforts there would be fewer species alive today and ecosystems and the world as a whole would be poorer for it. Like forests, wildlife consisting of animals, birds, insects, etc. living in the forest is a national resource, which not only helps in maintaining the ecological balance but is also beneficial from economic, recreational and aesthetic points of view.

Certainly, zoos can be considered as a great source of entertainment for people of various ages. Lots of families have the opportunity to visit and teach their children about numerous animal species which they alternatively could only view in textbooks.

On the other hand, the critics of zoos would argue that animals often suffer physically and mentally by being enclosed. Even the best artificial environments can't come close to matching the space, diversity, and freedom that animals have in their natural habitats. This deprivation causes many zoo animals to become stressed or mentally ill.

In conclusion, although some people think that zoos are cruel, I believe that zoos are essential for saving wild species from extinction and for human education as well as help the species stay away from poachers and harm.