Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With regards to closing and opening of zoos, some think that zoos may suffer animals and should be closed down whereas others believes that wild animals can be protected by existing of zoos. In my opinion, I agree to certain/some extent that if it has more space for giving animals and recreating natural habitats, zoos may be established.

First of all, I suppose that some zoos are too small to stay for larger animals and some animals which need more space to roam around. There is one more reason why zoos should be closed that animals can suffer seriously both physically and mentally because they are taken from their habitats and stayed uneasy in cage. In addition, the cruelest thing is killing the surplus animals for having too much babies because of the difficulties of breeding.

On the other hand, zoos are meant for not only entertainment but also education purposes. Children get benefits from zoos because they can see wildlife and learn about conservation of the natural environment and wildlife. Moreover, scientific research and specific conservation of endangered species are conducted to prevent the risk of extinction. Besides, this extinction may affect the ecological system which can cause global warming and climate change.

All at all, from my point of view, I trust that zoos can be useful in protecting wildlife and natural environment as long as they are usually regulated and inspected by the government. Furthermore, people should actively participate in caring about protecting endangered species and their natural habitats.