Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that ex-prisoners can become normal, productive member of society and make a contribution in their later life. I completely agree with this following viewpoint that allowing them to tell teenagers about the consequences of committing an offence is an effective method to discourage the young from engaging in unlawful acts.

From my perspective, youngsters are likely to accept hearing the stories from ex-offenders due to their curiosity. What the ex-prisoners can talk to them is about the initial purpose why they involved in crime. Furthermore, people who have been in jail may dispel their ideas that taking part in criminal actions could be leading to a glamorous life as well as describing about the punishments in prison and their real experience. As a matter of fact, adolescents are indifferent to the guidance of elderly people and show a keen interest in this kind of stories. Their real emotion and suffering things from criminal lifestyle bring about the fear of breaking the law among youngsters and self-awareness about the serious sentence could be received if broke the law.

Alternatives to using reformed prisoners to educate teenagers from their own experience is less efficient and practical. One option would be for police officers to pay a visit a school or launch campaign so as to emphasize what juvenile criminals could face if being lawbreakers. Nevertheless, I doubt that students are reluctant to take advice from the figure of authority as usual. Plus, the second option would be for the educators, especially teachers, giving knowledge about the nature of crime and long-term detrimental impact on their future but students may simply regard this as credible source of information and ignore it.

In conclusion, I fully support the view that the experience from ex-criminals have a powerful impact on adolescent’s consciousness about this issue which helps to deter the young from committing crimes.