Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some people think that having these people to give a talk to school students is the best way to tell them about the dangers of committing a crime. Do you agree or disagree?

Educating school students on the consequences of carrying out a crime has long been a contentious issue. There is a common belief that it is the best way to have ex-prisoners who will share their real experiences to pupils. While I agree that asking those who have directly in the situation will be a great educational method, I am also convinced that there will be another alternative ways to help school student understand well about crime, which I will discuss further below.

On the first hand, It is not wrong to mention that students will be aware truly of the consequences of committing crimes through reformed criminals. These used-to-be wrongdoers are real illustrations that people must pay for their unlawful activities. Their stories might be vivid and persuasive enough to attract students easily. As student are in the age of being curious about the actual life outside the schools, where they can gather knowledge about situations that is on the point of occurrence. Take career choice workshop as an example. One of the most inspirational factors attracting students is that it has real speakers in such industries to talk about lessons in ordinary life. Hence, these speeches help students to gain subjective views about life in general and crime in particular.

However, I completely believe that combinations of different education methods would also help pupils to aware of the dangers of crime for the victims. Firstly, it is about how parents teach their childrens at home. Before going to school, students have several times to stay with their parents and be educated what is right or wrong. It is said that home environment contains profound effects which can affect student significantly. Parents must be pioneers to educate children at an early age about negative activities and how to avoid them. In addition, school also plays a crucial role in training pupils to be a good citizens and have knowledge on lawless actions. Criminology should be a compulsory subject at school with the aim of providing useful lectures. Only that, students are going to be taught all the necessary understanding, including crime prevention.

In conclusion, personaly, it is not the best to ask ex-criminals sharing their experiences to students. It may be a beneficial way to help students learn vividly about what happen in real situation. However, there will be numerous effective methods to train pupils about unlawful activities and criminal, such as adding criminology as an important topic at school.