Online learning: do pros outweigh cons?

Technology advances have revolutionized how we study and learn, igniting curiosity whether online learning is beneficial or detrimental to our learning process. I believe that the drawbacks of this learning method can eclipse its merits.

Advocates of online learning may argue that this method can allow learners to learn, irrespective of geographical barriers. Simply with a click of a button and internet access, people can learn almost everything that they desire without travelling long distances, rendering the learning process easier than ever before. By the same token, online learning can open a world of opportunities for students to broaden their range of knowledge as they can gain access to a plethora of courses, and materials related to their area of interest from various sources. For example, a student in Vietnam can easily enroll in English courses conducted by Oxford University in the UK without having to travel here.

However, I would contend that the downside is more significant. Prolonged exposure to screens can lead to numerous serious medical conditions, such as deteriorated eyesight, diabetes, obesity or even stroke in the worst scenario. Aside from this, it is also important to note that online learning requires self-discipline from learners, when lacking, can negate this learning method even though they can access a wealth of information online. Finally, online learning can deprive them of the chance to interact with their teachers and peers regularly, resulting in terrible communication skills. This problem manifests itself starkly in the Covid-19 pandemic. Students, after going back to school, are reported to encounter social awkwardness due to a lack of consistent and continuous interaction.

In conclusion, while online learning can confer certain benefits concerning learning distances and the availability of information and materials, I believe that these benefits can be overshadowed by its disadvantages, given the potential illnesses, a lack of self-discipline, and social interaction.