Some say that because many people are living much longer,the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, the age at which people end paid work normally from 55 to 62 in many nations. The reason is in the past, a few people would live beyond 80 years, hence, they only could enjoy no more than about 20 years of retirement. However, the situation has changed nowadays when the figure is much higher - 30 or even 40 years. This is often cited as a main factor for expecting people to work to a later age.

Some people claim that it is extremely costly to support people for so long in retirement.Pensions are paid for partly by citizens in their working lives, but today with the increasing number of longevity, they are just insufficient due to the fact that they are only designed for the previous shorter average life expectancy. Moreover, it is argued, the burden falls on younger people who end up working harder to pay for the enjoyment and relaxation of the old in their extended retirement. This, they say, is essentially unfair.

Although I acknowledge the validity of this notion,I firmly believe that it is necessary to retain current required retirement age. To begin with, when older people retire later they deprive the young of the opportunity to work and develop professionally. Furthermore,I feel that people are not merely valuable members of society when they are earning money.They still can contribute a great deal through sharing in family responsibilities as child care or doing voluntary work in the wider community after retiring,I think, therefore, we should maintain existing retirement age as well as creating different jobs for older people to make them feel that they are still useful in both families and society as a whole.