Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of travelling to a workplace every day.

Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages?

In many parts of the world, and in many different sectors, more and more people are staying at home rather than commuting to work.

Opponents of home -working say that being together in a workplace with colleagues is a vital part of keeping people healthy and happy. Staying at home, never meeting people can lead to depression .They also say that ,from a professional viewpoint, it is important to spend time in formal and less formal situations with co-workers .Although it is argued that interaction can happen via computers ,especially with a visual elements such as video conferencing, they do not believe this can ever replace face to face contact.

For me, the advantages of working from home more than outweigh disadvantages. To begin with, many officers prefer home working, saying they function more effectively as they could relax, without the pressure and waste of the long commute. With new technologies placing people in the same room metaphorically, it is much easier to do this. With less travel there is a smaller carbon footprint, although this is a claim which has yet to be proved since many people choose to live in remoter areas and car use is not significantly reduced when working at home.

In my opinion ,working at home enables many people to join the workforce who would not otherwise be able to do so .This option is particularly liberating for women due to the fact that they often have more caring responsibilities.

In conclusion, I firmly feel that working from home is the fairest and most efficient choice for most people.