In some schools, students must study music and learn to play a musical instrument. In other schools, studying music may not be required or there may be no music classes at all. Do you think all students should have to study music? Support your opinion with reasons and examples.

In my personal opinion, I agree that studying music should not be a compulsory subject at school because to study music, the students should have their own inner interest in music.

The school should fully aware that not all students have the same interest and talents in music. Studying music requires both the interest and talent of the students to be successful and attain benefit by studying it. For instance, a student who has the ambition to become a famous musician should be guided by the school to take more music class than other classes. On the other hand, the school should not compel a student who does not show interest and talent in music to take a music class. In other words, the school should only give guidance to the students and the decision of taking music class should completely be in the students' hands. In addition, for students who do not have an interest and talent in music, taking music class would only be a waste of time. Therefore, schools must understand that not all students are good or interested in music.

Nevertheless, I would definitely recommend the school to provide a music class as an extracurricular activity for the students with interest and talent in music to develop and transfer the musical skills. For instance, the students will feel more motivated and not under the pressure to study music because they will not be officially scored during the extracurricular activity. Music as an extracurricular activity will also benefit the students with interest and natural talent in music to enhance their music skills and provide the opportunity.

In conclusion, taking a music class should not be forced by the schools and music class should be a merely extracurricular subject.