Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, there has been an increasing trend of students taking a break from studying before pursuing higher education. From my perspective, the benefits of this trend are more significant than its disadvantages.

There are two apparent benefits for students taking a gap year. First of all, a gap year might enable students to enrich themselves with real-life experience besides academic studies. To be more specific, communication or negotiation skills could be essential for their future career, which are hardly taught at schools. For example, the students could be offered a temporary employment opportunity such as an internship program or a part-time job. While taking on these jobs, students would apply their academic knowledge in an actual work setting and gain other work-related skills as well. Moreover, those uncertain about their academic choice could take advantage of a gap year to experience different jobs and fields. Therefore they could find out what they are truly passionate about. For example, if students would like to choose Computer Science as their major but they are not sure about it, taking a year off studying to attend a programming course before enrolling in a university could be a great idea. This could boost their confidence and encourage them to be an active learner.

Although a gap year has lots of benefits for the students, there are still some disadvantages. To explain, exposure to life outside the school campus could be a struggle for some graduates. For example, peer pressure is much more intense outside the classroom, which could be exhausting. However, such setbacks could not outweigh the advantages of a gap year because if students are learning how to deal with challenges in real-life contexts, they will form the habit of finding the most suitable solution.

In conclusion, although continuously pursuing education without a break allows students to 12 concentrate more on their studies, I would contend that taking a gap year could be more advantageous because the experience gained from this time would equip them for future careers. It is suggested that students should make the most out of it to develop themselves professionally.