Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages.

It is believed that students may have the tendency to work or travel after high school and subsequently pursue higher education. I contend that there are some drawbacks behind this trend, which can be outweighed by the benefits.

On the one hand, taking a vacation in one year may take a toll on students' academic performance when they go to tertiary education. As the undergraduates in the first year are taught specialised knowledges related to the high school's syllabus, they have to spend much time to revise their understanding before pursuing lectures in universities when delaying college one year. This can act as precursor to not only the deteriorating performance but also reduced productivity, and especially an adverse outcomes when they graduates. As a result, less educated workforce will be generated in the future, leading to the lack of competent experts in particular domains such as science, politics, and society.

On the other hand, the primary justification for why I believe that having a year in rest before tertiart education can do good than harm is that this can help students relieve stress after a long period of studying at their high school. More specifically, they can recharge themselves by do some amusements like travelling, amplifing the productivity when they start their higher education. Moreover, by getting a gap year, students can do some activities that they want but they have to delay to finish their education. This can bring a sense of satisfaction because they can attain their preferences.

In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages when taking a gap year, I maintain that this can bring more advantages for students.