Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university to work or to travel Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantage

A number of pupils have a tendency to take a year off to gain work experience or travel after they graduate from high school. Although this propensity can trigger drawbacks such as the detrimental impacts on students’ academic progress, I consider its benefits including the accumulation of life experience and the development of new skills are more significant.

On the one hand, taking a year off can be detrimental to students since their academic development can be adversely affected. This is because they start their university education a year behind their peers causing a delay in acquiring their bachelor’s degree. This can hinder them from future career opportunities and a high earning potential. Additionally, taking a brief time to work or travel before embarking on their formal university education can engender the loss of momentum. More specifically, some students may find it difficult to return to academic studies and struggle to adjust to the pace of college coursework afterwards.

On the other hand, having a break between high school and university can bring two benefits. Most noticeably, it can provide students with the opportunity to gain life experience. To be more specific, they can acquire deeper insight into new cultures and exposure to different ways of living and thinking by travelling. Consequently, they are more likely to have a broader perspective and better understand themselves and the world around them, becoming more well-rounded individuals. Furthermore, they can learn new skills by working. In other words, their communication skills, time management and problem-solving skills are often strengthened by cooperating with others to fulfil tasks at work. These competencies can be beneficial in preparing for college and future careers.

In conclusion, the inclination to work and travel for a year after high school in lieu of going directly to college can have negative impacts on students’ academic development. However, I consider it is more beneficial since it can enhance their life experiences and enables them to learn crucial skills. It is advisable that high school graduates should take time to experience the real world by travelling or working.