Some students work while studying. This often results in lacking time for education and constantly feeling under pressure. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

It is observed that some students work while pursuing education, which often causes them to have little time for studying and constantly feel under pressure. This phenomenon can be attributed to several factors, and this essay will propose some viable measures to remedy this problem.

Two main factors are to blame for the current trend of working students. Chief of these is that many badly off students have to take up after-school jobs to earn more money to help pay for their living expenses and tuition fees. As a result, these students are likely to face financial pressure on top of academic stress. Added to this is that even students who do not struggle financially may be inclined to work to gain practical skills for their future occupations. For instance, many high school students work as waiters at restaurants to boost their customer service and verbal communication skills. However, working students often have difficulty allocating time for their studies, which may cause them to graduate with low grades and hinder their future careers.

There are some ways to address this thorny problem. To begin with, governments and schools should subsidise financially deprived students by offering them financial aid and granting them scholarships so that they can live comfortably and ensure time for education during their student years. In addition, educators should incorporate subjects and lessons that teach students essential soft skills for their future jobs into the curriculum. For instance, teachers can organise more group assignments and activities to equip students with communication and teamwork skills. This can help them improve their practical abilities and eliminate the need to take up after-school jobs.

In summary, the causes of students’ tendency to work are economic struggles and desires to obtain practical skills, and the solutions would lie in governments and educational institutes to subsidise and upskill them.