Some think that students must travel to another country in order to learn its language and customs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that making a trip to another nation take an indispensable part in absorbing its language and traditions. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I am convinced that it is not crucial for everyone due to the costs and racial differences.

On the one hand, it is indubitable that travelling abroad could yield plenty of benefits for individuals’ language and customs acquisitions. First and foremost, this decision could offer a greater chance for people to develop language skills. This is because when living in a foreign country, learners might have more opportunities to communicate with native speakers; therefore, not only could they enhance their pronunciation but also extend their vocabulary. Furthermore, moving to another region could assist young students to immerse themselves in alien cultures. Tourists going to Vietnam, for example, could participate in several major festivals in this country, namely Tet holiday and Mid-Autumn holiday, hence, they could acquire insight into its traditional customs.

On the other hand, there are two compelling reasons why I advocate that it is not essential for students to go overseas to discover the language and cultures of another area. One key rationale is that the enormous budget incurred to cover the expenses of living in a foreign nation, such as accommodation and food could put a strain on students’ finances, thereby depriving them of opportunities to learn major subjects. Consequently, it could thwart them from being fully-developed individuals. Another justification is that they might get a number of obstacles when making a trip to another region. To illustrate, racism is prevalent trouble Asian learners have when going to European countries, jeopardizing their mental health.

In conclusion, whilst it is irrefutable that it is more effortless for students to comprehend new language and customs when moving to another region, I contend that it is not essential for everyone because of the expenditure and the difference of race.