Some universities now offer their courses on the internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development.

Online education has become a common feature of learning in many universities, especially during the Covid-19 pandemic. Although there are some drawbacks of internet-based learning, I would argue that there are far more benefits.

On the one hand, the main drawback of the trend towards online university courses is that there is less direct interaction. Students may not have the opportunity to engage face-to-face with their teachers, and will instead have to rely on written forms of communication. Similarly, students who study online do not come into direct contact with each other, and this could have a negative impact on peer support, discussion, and exchange of ideas. For example, whereas students on traditional courses can attend seminars and have some discussion after class, online learners are restricted to chatting through website forum areas. These learners also lack the motivation and element of competition that face-to-face group work brings.

On the other hand, I believe that online university courses are a positive development for various reasons. Firstly, they allow learners to study flexibly, meaning that they can work whenever and wherever is convenient, and they can cover the material at their own pace. Secondly, the cost of a university education can be greatly reduced, while revenues for such institutions may increase as they provide the courses to many more people. Finally, online learning offers open access to anybody willing to study, regardless of age, location, ability, and background. For example, citizens in Vietnam can easily enroll in a course in the USA without much effort and save money for some expenses such as traveling, eating.

In conclusion, while I recognize the possible disadvantages of online learning, it seems to me that it is a positive development overall.