University education should be free to everyone, regardless of income. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that higher education should be free for all members of society. While there are some strong arguments against this view, I still believe that a non-profit university education system can be significantly beneficial for a country and its economy.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why we should pay for university institutions. Firstly, there are many expenses that tertiary education must cover such as infrastructure, electricity, employee wages, which are fundamental to maintain any school. A university can only create brilliant students if it is well-funded because it can concentrate all of its resources for teaching and upgrading the curriculum. Secondly, if higher education is free to everyone, it can become a burden on the government while citizens have to pay more taxes. Finally, undergraduate students may take university for granted as they do not have to pay any expenses, which can lead to overload in one class and a lack of motivation for learning.

On the other hand, university tuition should be free as it could bring far more benefits for society. One of the positives of doing this is that it provides equal opportunities for everyone willing to attend higher education. This will result in a well-educated workforce and in turn a productive and prosperous nation. In addition, for those students who come from a poor family but have a good performance at school, a free university education system can help them to completely concentrate on the class. For example, in some developing countries such as Vietnam, the amount of poor students with a strong will to learn is very high, therefore to make sure that we do not leave out any talents, a free education system is in need.

In conclusion, although a free university education could bring certain drawbacks, I believe that the benefits outweigh them in the long term.