What are the positives and negatives of learning a second language as a child?

Some people argue as to whether or not learning foreign language as an early age is good for children. In this essay, I will explore the pros and cons of this argument with some relevant examples to support.

On the one hand, there are at least two main benefits when developing a new language skill as a child. Firstly, many researches have shown that the best time to learn a new language is at the age of 3-6. The children’s brain can easily absorb the new language without not much effort because of the fact that they do not have many concerns or shyness like many adults have when they exposure to something new. Secondly, learning a new language as an early age help to prepare a better life for the child when they grow up. For example, in some developing countries such as Vietnam, learning English is really vital as it opens more opportunities to get a well-paid job and a decent life.

On the other hand, learning foreign language too early can result in many unexpected outcomes. One of the negative points is that some children may not be ready to learn something new and many parents often have the tendency to force their child study when they do not want. This can make the child have a fear for learning, or maybe it can deprive the peaceful childhood from the child. In addition, learning language when too young can also cause many language disorders. Teaching language for a child is not an easy-going job, it requires many experiences and techniques, thus wrong educational method can result in many troubles that affect negatively on the child.

In conclusion, let the children learn a new langue can be good if parents and teachers know what is appropriate for the kids.