What are the advantages and disadvantages of using social media sites such as Facebook?

Some people argue whether or not the increasing number of people having a social media account has a positive impact on human life. This essay will explore the pros and cons of this trend with some relevant examples to support.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why using social media such as Facebook is rewarding. One of the positives is that it helps users connect with people all over the world much easier than ever before. Some people who work or study abroad, for example, can keep in touch with their family via text messages or video call of some apps such as Skype, Facebook. In addition, social networks also help people access multi-dimensional information and researches, which is always available to support. Another benefit of social media is that it is a great marketing tool, which helps companies promote their products in a way that convenient and economical.

On the other hand, there are a number of drawbacks of social media that people should take into consideration. Firstly, if the users’ profile is not private enough, hackers can get private information from them and use it for negative purposes including steal bank account. There are many cases that those who use social media lose a huge amount of money just because they click on a link. Secondly, social networking could be time-wasting if people do not manage their online time effectively. Many researchers have shown that the number of people that suffer from internet addiction has gone up significantly, especially for youngsters. As a result, this can disconnect people from the real world and gradually inhibit the development of themselves.

In conclusion, social media could bring about certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked.