Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

People have different views about how many choices students should have with regard to what they can study in university. While some argue that it would be better for students to be forced into certain key subject areas, I believe that everyone should be able to study the course of their choice.

On the one hand, there are various reasons while people believe that universities should only offer subjects that will be useful in the future. They may assert that university courses like medicine, engineering, and information technology are more likely to be beneficial than certain art degrees. From a personal perspective, it can be argued that these courses could provide more job opportunities, career progression, better salary, and therefore an improved quality of life. On the societal level, by forcing people to choose particular university subjects, governments can ensure that any knowledge and skill gaps in the economy are covered. Finally, a focus on technology in higher education can lead to new inventions, economic growth, and greater future prosperity.

On the other hand, I believe that university students should be free to choose their preferred areas of study. Firstly, society will benefit more if our students are passionate about what they are learning. Secondly, nobody can predict which areas of knowledge will be most useful in the future, and it may be that employers begin to value creative thinking skills above practical or technical skills. If this were the case, perhaps we would need more students of art, history, and philosophy than of science and technology.

In conclusion, although it might seem sensible for universities to focus only on the most useful subjects, I preferred the current system in which people have the right to study whatever they like.