Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Modern technology enables universities to offer many online courses. In my opinion, this has both positive and negative impacts on learners' outcomes.

On the one hand, the online learning model can benefit in some aspects. Firstly, to learners, online courses are more convenient for students who live far away from school. For example, Vietnamese students are able to attend a virtual class offered by a foreign university without having to travel abroad. Those courses help learners save a large amount of money from commuting, housing and food. Besides, it also allows students to have a flexible learning schedule because they can choose courses suiting their situations. Secondly, to universities, offering online courses attracts more learners, regardless of where they are. As a result, these universities can make more profit and will promote their reputation remarkably.

On the other hand, a virtual class has many drawbacks that it cannot substitute for the traditional style. First of all, online courses cannot provide a learning environment where students can also have social connections. It is difficult for online students to have face-to-face interaction with their teachers and classmates. Therefore, studying become boring, and students lose interest. Their academic outcomes might be affected in an undesirable way. In addition, there are so many distractions from the Internet while learners are studying from an online class. Instead of focusing on lectures, they can surf webs, use social media or chat with friends. These contribute to lower academic results as inevitable.

In conclusion, offering online courses for learners may be a necessity because of its advantages. However, their drawbacks make it cannot replace traditional classes in universities.