In recent years sports stars have become increasingly famous and wealthy. For some this is a benefit, raising the profile of sports, but for others it is a negative influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable that professional players in sport are receiving stupendous attention from the public as well as revenue streams. A school of thought believe that this phenomenon would bring about numerous positive effects to the sport industry, while others said that it would only cause detriment to the field. Personally, I believe the merits are offset by the drawbacks since money could distort people view point about sport and being famous often come with a great pressure.

The increasing in the income would certainly be a great encouragement for the sportsman or sportswoman, especially those who start from unfortunate situation. This would lead to the enthusiasms in professional sport players, and thus improving their performance. For example, in order to meet the expectation of the viewers and the club owner, Cristian Ronaldo has devoted most of his youth into training, and thus became one of the best soccer player in the world. Therefore, this trend would support the athletes both financially and mentally, and audiences could enjoy more entertaining games.

On the other hand, this situation could put the pro-players under great strains. Fans tend to expect their idols to maintain well-performance on the field, however, it is unlikely that any sportsperson could do that. Although it is a commonplace, sometimes people get disappointed and angry at the lost, leading to the hateful comments on the internet about the players. This might have negative effects on the emotion of those who received it, and thus affect the performance of them. Furthermore, with the hefty income, players might be distracted and overindulge themselves. In the longer term, this would gradually drag them down in their career path. As the result, many young talents are being wasted by the vanity.

In conclusion, whilst the professional athletes might feel incentive with the raising salary, I reckon that being popular and affluent could be pernicious to the career trajectory.