Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a gap year, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

In the recent year, certain young citizens opt for a gap year before decided to studying at a university or choosing a job. They argue that this is an opportunity for them to understand themselves and the world before getting serious. However, other people believe that this is not a great idea and people are squandering their resources. From my perspective, both arguments have a fair point, and I will further elaborate in this essay.

Most people have to choose a career or a major to follow after graduate from high school, however, it is not everyone know exactly who they want to be in the future. Therefore, a gap year is a great solution for those people to figure it out. By traveling to various places, people are exposed to different cultures and offered a chance to reflect themselves. For instances, after traveling and seeing hapless people in Africa, a teenager, who have not decide what career he want to pursuit, might want to be a politician. In addition, since they are traveling and interacting with a lot of people, various social skills and soft skills might be obtained which could beneficial later on.

On the other hand, for those who already know exactly what they want in the future, this gap year is surely unnecessary. Instead of spending time and money on something would do no good for them, these people could focus on their goals either in career or in studying. To be a doctor in most of the fields, for example, would take people six to eight years of studying until they are officially become an expert. Thus, spending a year for traveling would a superfluity to them.

In conclusion, I feel that traveling for one year is certainly necessary for certain people and if it is affordable they should take it, however it is not essential for those who have had make their mind about their future.