In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

SAMPLE ANSWER

Many technological breakthroughs have been already made in the field of agriculture, but there still are many people who are in need of urgent food. In this essay, I will explain some reasons and suggest a possible solution to this.

One of the reasons for the famine is that crops are unlikely to grown under harsh natural conditions like deserts, and it is likely that embedding innovative agricultural technologies, they can grow and feed themselves. However, the fact is they might be unable to access or purchase these technologies as they are developed and owned by developed countries. Of course, they can be transferred as international aids but more often as political advantages for other benefits. Many starving countries such as African countries let their people die of hunger rather than receiving those aids. Therefore, the solution would be not out of developed countries’ hand.

There also other reasons for food emergency around the world. First, natural causes included natural disasters such as droughts and floods destroying crops and resulting in food shortages. I think the urgent action, in this case, is food aids. Second, the crop production in previously stable fertile areas has been severely stifled for years by the conflict so that people lost their livestock, flee their homes and then starved. There would be no better way than the conflict coming to an end by diplomacy perhaps.

In conclusion, many people believe that technology in agriculture would create a future without starvation. However, I think that technology seems to be a long-term solution rather than the more urgent cooperation of countries to appeal for aids and stop the conflict.