Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that oral forms of communication carry more weight than their written counterparts. To my way of thinking, despite some advantages that written forms may bring, I completely agree with this statement according to some reasons as follows.

To begin with, although we are living in the modern world where education is a top priority, there are still thousands of cases of illiteracy today. As a matter of fact, those low-income families cannot afford to go to school, which, as a consequence, causes a lack of their reading and writing ability later on. While there is no doubt that written forms of communication set a limited number of its readers as it requires a certain level of the ability to read and understand what is written, spoken ones enable a vast majority of people to receive the information and understand what is conducted orally.

To support my own point of view, I am of the opinion that oral communication can be further more effective in companion with ways of speaking. For instance, professional lecturers with an attractive voice, clear pronunciation and proficiency in their public speaking skills may find it more effective getting their ideas and messages across in oral forms than handing out full-length transcripts of what they are saying to their audience. That can obviously be seen in several debate competitions where competitors use their debating skills as well as persuasive arguments to persuade the large audience.

For afore-mentioned reasons above, it seems to me that the advantages of oral communication outweighs those of written one.