Sport has an important role in society. Some people believe that it is nothing more than leisure activities.

Sport has an important role in society. Some people believe that it is nothing more than leisure activities. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

With the development of sport industry, there are some argruments about the value of sports in our daily society. Whether it plays an important role or is nothing more than leisure activities. I will examine both views of this problem and outline my perspective in essay below.

It is understandable that why somebody tends to think that sport is nothing more than leisure activities. Apart from professional sport players who pursuit sport career, people often keen on playing sport just for certain purposes such as entertainment, keeping fit or a part of a therapy. Moreover, a large proportion of adult spend most of their time working, taking care of family and tend to think that playing sport is consuming too much time. Eventhough physical education is a compulsory subject in school, students who consider there is no necessary studying this subject are encouraged not to spend too much time playing sport instead of studying. All of these reasons contribute to the belief that sport is just a mean of entertainment.

Contrary to this statement, there are many evidences convincing that sport plays an important role in society. The first merit is that many researches are conducted to confirm that playing sport impacts positively on both physical and mental health by improve strength, flexibility, lengthen life expectancy and relieve stress. The second merit is that throughout playing sports, people are likely to learn new social skills and gain live experiences. Because of deep connection and mutual support in sports like football or volleyball, they can build up cooperation and interpersonal skill which will expand their circle of friendship and are benefical to their working or studying career. Finally, with the development of sport industry and celebrity status, it is believed to facilitate culture, tourism and diplomacy between countries. Therefore, sport can be judged as an important factor in our daily lives which takes part in the progress of developing society.

In conclusion, I hold a belief that sport plays an important role in society and not just an entertainment mean. Due to the benefit of playing sport, I keen on the opinion that sport should be widely encouraged in our daily lives and in education to raise people’ awareness of sport’s value.