In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the Internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to the advancement of technology, the Internet become one of the main storage of knowledge instead of books. From my perspective, the drawbacks of this trend are much greater than benefits.

On the bright side, storing knowledge on the Internet is advantageous. Firstly, the Internet allow people to access the knowledge more easily and effective. To meet the requirements of users, many platforms are created, which will be suitable with every groups of netizen. Therefore, the process of searching information is more efficient, time-saving and convenient with a couple of mouse clicks. Secondly, the Internet allow an unlimited space for knowledge storage. If storing knowledge in traditional way, we need to write it in books and then publicizes, which will consume a wide range of time to reach to readers. However, with the help of Internet storage, information is got access quickly by a portable electric device from everywhere around the world.

On the other hand, this trend also leads to a wide range of disadvantage. The first merit is inaccurate information. Nowadays, there are many websites such as Wikipedia, google translate, etc., give users access authority, which help them change and upload new information on the web. Although the main purpose is expanding the source of knowledge, some people tend to change information in negative ways in order to take profit from it This will results on the problem of verification and reliability. The second merit is copyright infringement problem. Some value sources like music, film and book which require fee are in danger of leaking by subtle tricks of hackers. This action paves the way a new type of crime that booming significantly in recent decade-Internet crime. These illegal activities contribute to an unstable society.

In conclusion, although the Internet also bring some benefits to knowledge storage, the drawbacks of this trend is overweight. And I firmly believe that book still plays the most important role in storing information and knowledge.