The spread of multinational companies and resulting increase of globalization produces positive effects for everyone. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, globalization has advanced at a high speed and affected people’s life in all aspects, including goods using on daily basis. While it is true that this tendency can be beneficial for individuals to some extent, I would argue that it has more drawbacks.

To begin with, there is no doubt that the trend of globalization has a wide range of benefits. Firstly, due to international trade which is favorable for all parties involved, every country can focus on some certain industries and exchange their products with other countries. This allows their productivity is enhanced significantly. Secondly, globalization promotes employment rate of developing countries and make it is possible for people in developed countries to buy high quality goods at quite reasonable price. For instance, almost of the big corporations such as Apple, Zara and Nike tend to have production plants in China to reduce cost of goods and bring more job opportunities to local people. Moreover, multinational companies help to provide fund, technology and managerial experience for developing countries.

However, I believe that globalization also causes some serious problems. First, a large number of local companies closed down in developing countries, as they were defeated in the competition with their transnational counterparts. This can lead to national economy which is totally dependent on foreign companies. Additionally, international companies do not give much importance to the environmental effects that they are causing in the host countries. According to a study of Vietnam National University in 2016, 45% of Foreign Direct Investment companies which did not apply less waste production process. If these problems are not handled properly, it might leads to serious consequences in local people’s lives.

In conclusion, while globalization has several advantages to communication and cooperation of all countries, I believe that negative impacts of this trend are greater.